Zen Planner vs Glofox 2026
A balanced 2026 comparison of Zen Planner vs Glofox for US studio owners, covering pricing, features, reviews, best-fit studio types, buyer risks, and decision guidance.
Key Takeaways
- Best fit for martial arts, CrossFit, and skill-based gyms: Zen Planner is stronger when belt tracking, workout tracking, staff payroll, and active-member-based pricing matter, based on Zen Planner's 2026 pricing and feature page and Zen Planner's Studio product page.
- Best fit for branded boutique studio experiences: ABC Glofox is stronger when a studio wants a branded member app, booking, payments, CRM, access control, and multi-location tools in one fitness-focused platform, based on Glofox's official feature page and Glofox's plans page.
- Pricing transparency difference: As of October 2026, Zen Planner publishes active-member pricing from $99/month to $538/month across Studio, Essentials, and Ultimate tiers, while Glofox lists plans starting at $99/month but asks buyers to request tailored pricing for specific plans and add-ons.
- Review snapshot: As of late September 2026, G2 lists Zen Planner at 4.2 out of 5 from 104 reviews and ABC Glofox at 4.5 out of 5 from 147 reviews, while Capterra lists Zen Planner at 4.3 from 270 reviews and ABC Glofox at 4.4 from 356 reviews.
- Main buying risk: Zen Planner can feel gym and martial arts oriented for some class-only studios, while Glofox buyers should verify final monthly pricing, branded app terms, payment processing, integrations, and multi-location add-ons before signing.
How We Compared the Software
This comparison looks at Zen Planner and ABC Glofox from the perspective of US boutique fitness studios, yoga studios, Pilates studios, dance studios, martial arts schools, gyms, wellness businesses, and sports academies evaluating studio management software in October 2026.
We prioritized official vendor sources for pricing and product capabilities, then cross-checked buyer sentiment using recognized review platforms including G2, Capterra, and Software Advice where available.
- Booking and scheduling functionality
- Memberships, packages, and recurring billing
- Payment processing and POS capabilities
- CRM, automations, and retention tools
- Reporting and multi-location support
- Customer support, onboarding, and ease of use
- Pricing transparency and value for money
- Fit for US boutique fitness, Pilates, yoga, dance, martial arts, gym, and wellness studios
Zen Planner vs Glofox: The 2026 Short Answer
Zen Planner and ABC Glofox both cover the core studio management stack: scheduling, member management, billing, payments, reporting, mobile access, and staff workflows. The better choice depends less on the feature checklist and more on operating model, studio type, pricing tolerance, and how much branded member experience matters.
Zen Planner is a stronger fit for gyms, martial arts schools, CrossFit-style businesses, MMA gyms, and skill-based programs that need belt tracking, workout tracking, payroll, attendance tracking, and billing in one system. Zen Planner states that it was founded in 2006 by a martial arts school owner and now serves more than 5,000 fitness businesses worldwide.
ABC Glofox is a stronger fit for boutique gyms and class-based fitness studios that want a branded app-led experience, booking, payments, CRM, marketing, access control, staff tools, and multi-location management in one system. Glofox states that its platform is trusted by more than 30,000 studios and gyms worldwide.
Editorial analysis — not reported fact:
For a single-location martial arts school or CrossFit-style gym, Zen Planner is usually the cleaner starting point because its differentiators match skill progression, workout tracking, and active-member pricing. For a boutique fitness studio that prioritizes branded app experience, lead capture, communications, and multi-location scaling, Glofox deserves a closer look.
Feature Comparison: Zen Planner and Glofox Cover Similar Basics but Differ in Emphasis
| Category | Zen Planner | ABC Glofox | What studio owners should check |
|---|---|---|---|
| Scheduling and booking | Zen Planner includes online scheduling, attendance tracking, member self-service, staff mobile app access, and embedded schedules, according to Zen Planner's pricing page. | Glofox supports classes, appointments, courses, facility bookings, booking windows, waitlists, automated reminders, and web or app booking, according to Glofox's scheduling page. | Compare recurring class setup, waitlist rules, room or spot booking, cancellation policies, and staff calendar workflows. |
| Memberships and billing | Zen Planner includes membership management, memberships and billing, payment processing, and automated billing features, according to Zen Planner's product page. | Glofox includes membership management, billing and payments, recurring billing, credit packs, POS, and failed-payment recovery, according to Glofox's feature page. | Ask both vendors about ACH or card processing rates, failed-payment workflows, freezes, family accounts, credits, refunds, and cancellation workflows. |
| Workout, belt, and skill tracking | Zen Planner includes belt and skill tracking and a SugarWOD integration for workout tracking, according to Zen Planner's pricing page. | Glofox is broader gym and studio software, but its public feature pages emphasize scheduling, payments, CRM, app experience, access control, staff management, and multi-location operations rather than martial arts belt tracking. | Martial arts schools and CrossFit-style gyms should demo progression tracking, rank testing, leaderboards, and workout programming before choosing. |
| CRM and marketing | Zen Planner offers Website starting at $99/month and Zen Planner Engage starting at $249/month, with marketing automation, AI-powered campaigns, lead management, and two-way messaging listed on Zen Planner's pricing page. | Glofox lists CRM and marketing, targeted communications, online lead capture forms, ABC XLerate automated sales engagement, and AI Agents across its plans page and feature page. | Compare included CRM features versus paid add-ons, SMS costs, email limits, lead source tracking, campaign templates, and two-way messaging. |
| Mobile app and branded app | Zen Planner includes member and staff mobile apps, and lists a branded app as a $39/month add-on on its active-member pricing page. | Glofox includes the ABC Glofox mobile app and staff app in Essential, lists a custom branded member app as an add-on in Essential and Boost, and includes it in Elite, according to Glofox's plans page. | Ask whether the app is a shared marketplace app, a custom-branded app, or a branded app add-on, and confirm Apple App Store and Google Play timelines. |
| Multi-location support | Zen Planner says multi-location gyms are priced based on number of locations and active members across the business, according to Zen Planner's pricing FAQ. | Glofox lists multi-location management, bulk multi-location configuration on Elite, and ABC Insights Multi-Location Analytics as an add-on or optional product, according to Glofox's plans page. | Multi-location buyers should ask for a written quote covering all locations, HQ reporting, member roaming, permissions, franchise workflows, and add-ons. |
Pricing Comparison: Zen Planner Publishes More Detail, Glofox Requires a Quote for Final Cost
As of October 2026, Zen Planner publishes active-member pricing for three main packages. Zen Planner's active-member pricing page lists Studio from $99/month for 0 to 45 active members up to $289/month for 251 or more active members, Essentials from $198/month to $388/month, and Ultimate from $348/month to $538/month.
Zen Planner's pricing page states that every Studio tier includes 100% of Studio features and that pricing scales by active members only, not prospects or staff. The same page lists optional add-ons: Zen Planner Engage at $249/month, Website at $99/month, branded app at $39/month, and Lane 3600 card reader at $39/month.
As of October 2026, Glofox's plans page says plans start at $99/month and presents Essential, Boost, Elite, and Enterprise packages. Essential includes booking and scheduling, member management, payment processing, payroll, reporting and analytics, the ABC Glofox mobile app, and the ABC Glofox Staff App; Boost adds online lead capture forms, advanced reporting, retail products, e-agreements, community content, targeted communications, and task management; Elite adds advanced app localization and bulk multi-location configuration.
Glofox also states that ABC XLerate automated sales engagement, a custom branded member app, and ABC Insights Multi-Location Analytics are add-ons in some plans, with the custom branded member app and ABC XLerate included in Elite. Because Glofox asks buyers to request pricing, US studios should treat the $99/month figure as a starting point and confirm total cost for the exact plan, location count, app package, analytics, payments, onboarding, and contract terms.
| Pricing item | Zen Planner | ABC Glofox |
|---|---|---|
| Published starting price | $99/month for Studio at 0 to 45 active members, according to Zen Planner's pricing tiers. | Plans start at $99/month, according to Glofox's plans page. |
| Pricing model | Active-member tiers with published monthly rates. | Plan-based pricing with request-pricing workflow for final quote. |
| Marketing add-ons | Website starts at $99/month and Engage starts at $249/month, according to Zen Planner's pricing page. | CRM, lead capture, targeted communications, and ABC XLerate appear across plan tiers and add-ons, according to Glofox's plans page. |
| Branded app | Listed as a $39/month add-on on Zen Planner's pricing tiers page. | Optional add-on in Essential and Boost, included in Elite, according to Glofox's plans page. |
| Multi-location pricing | Quoted based on number of locations and active members, according to Zen Planner's pricing FAQ. | Enterprise and multi-location analytics require discussion or add-on confirmation, according to Glofox's plans page. |
Review Comparison: Both Are Positively Rated, but Complaints Differ
As of September 28, 2026, G2 lists Zen Planner at 4.2 out of 5 from 104 reviews. G2's review summary says users mention ease of use, booking ease, customer support, and mobile application positives, while some users report issues around customer credits, payments, and support responsiveness.
As of September 29, 2026, Capterra lists Zen Planner at 4.3 out of 5 from 270 reviews. Capterra's indexed reviews include positive comments about organizing membership programs, pro shop operations, attendance, customer support, and usability, along with some complaints about dashboard updates and operational friction.
As of September 28, 2026, G2 lists ABC Glofox at 4.5 out of 5 from 147 reviews. G2's review summary says users mention ease of use, setup ease, integrations, mobile application, and payment processing positives, while some users report concerns about price increases, support access, and scheduling flexibility.
As of September 29, 2026, Capterra lists ABC Glofox at 4.4 out of 5 from 356 reviews, with secondary ratings of 4.5 for ease of use and 4.4 for customer service. Capterra reviews include positive comments about flexibility, onboarding, payments, and reliability, along with complaints about appointment visibility, grace periods after missed payments, glitches, and manual workarounds.
Editorial analysis — not reported fact:
The review data does not show a decisive winner. Zen Planner's public review profile supports its credibility for gyms and schools that value structure and support, while Glofox's review profile supports its appeal for studios that want an app-forward system with modern booking and payment flows. Buyers should read recent low-score reviews, not just averages, because most switching pain shows up in billing, support, migration, and contract details.
Which Studios Should Choose Zen Planner?
Zen Planner is most defensible for martial arts schools, CrossFit-style gyms, MMA gyms, strength and conditioning facilities, and hybrid gyms that need membership billing, class scheduling, attendance, payroll, workout tracking, and skill or belt tracking in one place. Zen Planner's official materials list belt and skill tracking, advanced workout tracking, SugarWOD integration, payroll, member and staff apps, reporting, and payment processing as part of its Studio package.
- Choose Zen Planner if: Your business uses belts, ranks, skills, tests, WODs, athlete progress tracking, or instructor payroll rules.
- Choose Zen Planner if: You prefer published pricing that scales by active members and want to estimate cost before booking a demo.
- Be cautious if: Your studio is a highly brand-sensitive boutique Pilates, yoga, barre, or wellness studio that mainly needs premium client experience, polished retail, and marketing workflows rather than gym-specific progress tracking.
- Ask before buying: Confirm payment processing rates, migration scope, onboarding timeline, cancellation terms, branded app costs, and how member credits, class packs, and family accounts work in your exact setup.
Which Studios Should Choose Glofox?
Glofox is most defensible for boutique fitness studios, gyms, Pilates studios, yoga studios, boxing studios, cycling studios, PT studios, and multi-location operators that want a branded member app, web booking, CRM, communications, reporting, access control, staff tools, and payment workflows under one fitness-specific platform. Glofox's official feature page lists scheduling and booking, membership management, billing and payments, custom branded app, CRM and marketing, reporting, access control and check-in, staff management, and multi-location management.
- Choose Glofox if: Your member experience depends heavily on mobile booking, app payments, push notifications, branded presentation, lead capture, and simple front-end booking.
- Choose Glofox if: You operate multiple locations or expect to scale and need centralized controls, roll-up reporting, location-level configuration, and franchise-style workflows.
- Be cautious if: You require transparent published pricing for every plan level before speaking with sales, or if martial arts belt tracking and CrossFit workout tracking are central to your operation.
- Ask before buying: Confirm final monthly price, app package, payment provider, Stripe or local processing options, onboarding fees, contract length, access control integrations, SMS costs, and whether each required feature is included or added separately.
What This Means for Studio Owners
Editorial analysis — not reported fact:
For most US studio owners, the choice should start with workflow fit rather than brand recognition. If your daily operations revolve around ranks, skills, WODs, attendance milestones, and active-member billing, Zen Planner is likely the more natural shortlist pick.
If your daily operations revolve around branded booking, polished app experience, lead conversion, payment recovery, access control, and multi-location visibility, Glofox is likely the more natural shortlist pick. The main due diligence item is total cost, because Glofox publishes a starting price but does not publish the same full tier-by-tier pricing table that Zen Planner does.
Before choosing either platform, run a real workflow demo using your studio's actual offers: unlimited memberships, intro packs, class packs, family accounts, waitlists, refunds, freezes, no-show fees, staff payroll, teacher permissions, and sales follow-up. The right system is the one that handles your messy real-life scenarios without forcing staff into spreadsheets or manual workarounds.
Sources & Further Reading
- Zen Planner pricing and packages — official pricing, package, feature, add-on, and FAQ details.
- Zen Planner active-member pricing tiers — published active-member tier pricing for Studio, Essentials, and Ultimate packages.
- Zen Planner Studio product page — official product positioning, feature details, founding context, and fit for gyms, CrossFit boxes, martial arts schools, and studios.
- Glofox plans page — official Glofox plan structure, starting price, included features, add-ons, and Enterprise positioning.
- Glofox feature page — official feature overview covering scheduling, billing, branded app, CRM, reporting, access control, staff management, and multi-location tools.
- Glofox scheduling and booking page — official details on classes, appointments, facilities, waitlists, reminders, no-show fees, and staff app scheduling.
- G2 Zen Planner reviews — review rating, review count, and summarized pros and cons as of September 2026.
- G2 ABC Glofox reviews — review rating, review count, and summarized pros and cons as of September 2026.
- Capterra Zen Planner reviews — verified user review profile, rating, review count, and recent reviewer themes.
- Capterra ABC Glofox reviews — verified user review profile, rating, review count, and recent reviewer themes.
- Software Advice Zen Planner profile — third-party profile with pricing, rating, review count, and product overview.
- Software Advice ABC Glofox profile — third-party profile with product overview, review data, integrations, and pricing notes.
Editorial coverage based on publicly available sources. Studio Software Advice does not accept paid placement in rankings. Unless stated otherwise, Studio Software Advice has no commercial relationship with any software companies named in this article.